home-made & healthy {slow cooker lasagna}

I actively sought out a slow cooker lasagna recipe. I truly love Italian food, so a slow cooker way to make it is ideal. While I am always sad when I have to cook to prep (like browning meat) for slow cooker recipes, this was pretty quick. Nick and I both really enjoyed this recipe. I especially love it because it has at least 2 servings of vegetables per serving of lasagna. Whenever I can fit in veggies, especially double servings, in one dish, I’M IN HEAVEN!

image
The only notes I would make about this recipe is that you could probably do with half of the amount of noodles. I realize it’s easier to just use the whole box than to keep half a box in the pantry, but the amount of noodles made it a little chewy (though not unpleasant). I had to double layer thrice to use them all.

So, from AllRecipes.com, here it is: Slow Cooker Lasagna.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic
  • 1 (29 ounce) can tomato sauce
  • 1 (6 ounce) can tomato paste
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 (12 ounce) package lasagna noodles
  • 12 ounces cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 16 ounces shredded mozzarella cheese

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a large skillet over medium heat cook the ground beef, onion, and garlic until brown. Add the tomato sauce, tomato paste, salt, and oregano and stir until well incorporated. Cook until heated through.
  2. In a large bowl mix together the cottage cheese, grated Parmesan cheese, and shredded mozzarella cheese.
  3. Spoon a layer of the meat mixture onto the bottom of the slow cooker. Add a double layer of the uncooked lasagna noodles. Break to fit noodles into slow cooker. Top noodles with a portion of the cheese mixture. Repeat the layering of sauce, noodles, and cheese until all the ingredients are used.
  4. Cover, and cook on LOW setting for 4 to 6 hours.

Leave a comment