home-made & healthy {whole wheat pasta bake}

wpid-20150209_163225.jpgOne of the meals Nick and I have been eating all week is this pasta bake I made on Sunday. It was really easy to make and tastes fantastic–which was surprising because I just threw stuff together to see what came of it. But not sure how it could really turn out wrong, as pasta is pretty much the easiest thing to make. Anyways, here is what I did:

  • 2 boxes of pasta (I used a box of elbow macaroni and a box of penne)
  • 1 lb ground beef (or turkey)
  • tomato sauce, to taste
    This is where I “winged it”. I only had a normal size of spaghetti sauce, which wasn’t enough for the amount of pasta I made. So I added a 28 oz can of (peeled) crushed tomatoes and a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes with onions, too.
  • shredded mozzarella, to taste

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Boil the pasta until tender. Cook the ground beef. Put pasta, ground beef, and all sauce in the pot and mix. Portion out to glass cooking dishes (this will be enough to fill up to 9×13″ pans). Sprinkle cheese on top. Put in oven until the cheese has melted, about 10 minutes or so.

This made about 9 pounds of food. I portioned it out originally into 10 portions, but that was almost an entire pound of pasta per portion. But then I switched it to about 9.5 ounces a portion for myself–Nick was fine eating a pound of spaghetti, go figure 😉 I was just glad to get a pasta sauce that worked well. I’ve often had a hard time getting the sauce to really sit well with the pasta–I think the “home made” sauce I threw together was simply better at that.

Leave a Reply

