home-made & healthy {chili}

wpid-20150205_203909-1.jpgLast weekend, I really wanted to make some chili in the crock pot. So I grabbed a few cans of beans at the store and hoped I had the rest. The result was quite a tasty chili that I made by completely winging it–no measuring at all. Now, I titled it “healthy”–my original wasn’t as healthy as some might like it due to using ground beef rather than something like ground turkey. Anyways, here’s what I used:

  • 2 lbs ground beef, browned (I consider the beef in my freezer very healthy, since it’s grown by my brother-in-law, so I know it’s not full of a bunch of stuff)
  • 1 can of red kidney beans
  • 1 can of garbanzo beans
  • 1 can of Rotel tomatoes & green chiles
  • 2 cups broth (honestly, I used chicken since I had some already open and it tasted fine)
  • 1 can condensed tomato soup
  • chili sauce (I used probably 2/3 of a bottle, but that’s all up to you)
  • spices (I used cumin, chili powder, and onion powder)

Stick it all in the slow cooker and let it go until warmed through. Yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

