i’m back!!

I’m back!! Which ironically comes with my actual desire to eat well and workout πŸ™‚ I know I sorta fell off the face of the earth in regards to this blog, and there is really no excuse for that. Sure, I was pregnant, but I was home all summer so I totally could’ve kept up with it. Except I wasn’t being healthy.

I’ve found it’s hard for me to eat healthy when I can’t exercise and vise versa. Like, if I can’t be completely healthy, I can’t do it partially. Which is sad. That’s not to say I couldn’t be active during even my late pregnancy. But I wasn’t, so my diet took a turn for the worse. Anyways…

Madilyn Elizabeth was born August 21st, nearly a month early. She was 6#6oz and 18″ long. She spent 10 days in the NICU with “immature lungs.”
image

But now we are all home.

image

Madi is now 6 weeks old. I’m back to work. And I’m now allowed to workout again. As of October 1st, Nick and I are BOTH trying to get our asses back in shape. The heaviest I was during pregnancy was 168 pounds–that’s about 40-45 pounds heavier than when I got pregnant. I started October at 149, so I’m already halfway there! (Thank you breastfeeding!!) Anyways, we are rewarding ourselves if we meet our goals by the end of the year–mostly, he’s trying to lose 10 pounds and I am trying to lose 5. I think my goal of 5 pounds is sorta low, but I don’t want to have problems with breastfeeding by eating too little or burning too many calories and not making up for them. It’s more important to me to breastfeed Madi as long as possible–goal is 18 months–than to lose weight.

Anyways, since I just went back to work, I’m trying to get used to the afternoon/evening schedule at home. I’ve only been able to workout every other day, which is still pretty good, I think. As far as food goes, I’m hoping to wean myself off all those bad things I let myself eat during pregnancy. Pop won’t be too hard because I can see the difference the caffeine makes in Madi, and I just don’t like root beer that much (A&W is naturally caffeine free). The fast food won’t be too hard either. But the sweets will. I’ve done pretty good regulating them these past five days, but I’m trying to not make a specific rule about them because then I’ll definitely break it πŸ˜› So we’ll just have to see how it goes…

So I’m back and determined to be healthy, for Nick and for Madi. I want to bug him for decades to come and I want to provide her with good nutrition now and a positive role model for the years to come.

image

Leave a Reply

