sitting out this year…

imageI have to admit, now that the time has come, I’m a pretty bummed that I’m not participating in the Owens Corning Half Marathon in Toledo this year.

Ironically, I registered for this race within days of getting pregnant at the end of 2013. Since I couldn’t get a refund and I didn’t want to go through the hassle of selling my spot to some unknown person, I just went and collected my stuff. Yeah, every time I wear the shirt, I’ll think about how I didn’t actually run the race.

But I truly believe I could have participated. If the winter hadn’t sucked as much as it did, I would’ve had some opportunity to run. I’m pretty sure I could’ve run 5-6 miles and walked the rest, whether or not I’m 20 weeks pregnant. Alas, Mother Nature was a cruel bitch this winter and the weather decided to be “normal” only a week or so ago. That, and the fact I recently contracted a head cold, the weather will be chilly tomorrow morning, and Nick’s parents want to have a belated Easter tomorrow afternoon all sort of compounded that it was just a good idea to not participate at all.

Next year, I WILL do this race. And I will have a PR πŸ™‚ It will be at least 7 months post-baby and will mark my comeback πŸ˜€

In the meantime, I’m hoping to run a 5k in about 3 weeks with some friends. I bought a support belt to help make sure I don’t hurt my back while running–hopefully, it works πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “sitting out this year…

  1. I’ll mostly be walking the 2k/5k with Ava in the stroller (and we’re bringing Abby & Kenzie) so if you need a break, you can walk with us! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

