home-made {e’s lager chili}

wpid-IMAG4604-1.jpgMy friend and co-worker, E, gave me this recipe for chili when I was asking around for cozy comfort foods at the onset of fall. She gave me this recipe, which is her hubby’s favorite chili. I really do enjoy it myself, tastes almost of sloppy joes actually. Nick also loves it–he said I should make it again, without my asking how he liked it, so I know he LOVES it 🙂

Anyways, while I call it E’s Lager Chili, it is actually Cowboy Beef Boston Lager Chili, and it hails from Sam Adams. Here’s the details…

INGREDIENTS
(serves 8, about 450 calories a bowl, based on specifically what ingredients I used)

  • 4 pounds of ground beef (I only used 2 pounds, but kept the rest of the recipe the same–it was quite a THICK chili, even with half the meat!)
  • kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 T canola oil (I used EVOO)
  • 1 red bell pepper, diced
  • 1 yellow bell pepper, diced
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 1 T chili powder
  • 1 T paprika (didn’t have this, yet I doubt it made much difference to the taste)
  • 1 t cayenne (I only had crushed flakes, but hey, whatever)
  • 1 1/2 t ground cumin
  • 1 1/2 t toasted ground coriander
  • 1 t dried thyme
  • 12 oz Sam Adams Boston Lager (I used an Octoberfest beer–E said any darker lager would probably be okay)
  • 1 cup whole, peeled, canned tomatoes and juices (I used diced peeled canned tomatoes, because I wouldn’t want a whole tomato in my chili!)
  • 1/2 c tomato paste (I used a 6 oz can, if that helps)
  • 3/4 c drained red kidney beans
  • 1/2 c bottled chili sauce
  • 1 t hot red pepper sauce, such as Tabasco
  • shredded cheddar cheese, sour cream, and scallions, for garnish

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a large, deep pot, brown the meat over medium heat, stirring, until no pink remains. Lift from the pot with a slotted spoon and set aside. Discard the fat in the pot.
  2. Add the oil and when hot, add the peppers, onion, chili powder, paprika, cayenne, cumin, coriander, and thyme. Cook, stirring, for 4 to 5 minutes or until the spices are fragrant and the onions and peppers begin to soften. (I put the onion and peppers in a bowl with some EVOO and nuked it for 4-5 minutes, then added it to the already hot pot and added the spices.)
  3. Add the lager, tomatoes and their juices, and tomato paste and bring to a simmer. Return the meat to the pot and add the kidney beans and chili sauce. Stir in the hot pepper sauce and season to taste with salt. Let the chili simmer for 45 minutes to 1 hour until thoroughly cooked and the flavors come together. Stir several times during cooking and adjust the heat to maintain the simmer.
  4. Serve the chili in bowls, with shredded cheese, sour cream, and scallions for garnish.
Leave a Reply

