home-made {corn casserole}

Okay, I’m a little late with this one. I made it nearly three weeks ago, but hey, better late than never!

This dish is one that is ALWAYS present at Nick’s family’s gatherings. This year for Thanksgiving, I volunteered to make a corn dish for my family, so I got this recipe from my mother-in-law. Her recipe card has written that it’s actually from Nick’s aunt–so I’ve no idea if she brought this into the family when she married into it, or if that’s just who my MIL got the recipe from. Either way, this is an excellent side dish, to be made for any meal throughout the year.

INGREDIENTS
(makes 8 servings)
–1 can whole kernel corn**
–1 can cream style corn**
–1/4 c onions sauteed in 1/2 c margarine
–1 c sour cream
–2 eggs
–1 c milk
–1 pkg Jiffy Corn Muffin Mix
–1 c cheddar cheese

**The recipe calls for “1 can”, so I used what I consider to be the normal “can”, those that are like 1 4/5 cups, or nearly 16 oz.

DIRECTIONS
Mix & bake at 350 for 1 hour.

I’d suggest bigger than a 9×9 pan–we have a funny pan that is maybe 8×11 or something like that, which would be perfect. The 9×9 pan I used got VERY full, but I think a 9×13 pan would have it spread too thin. I guess it could just be to your judgement.

Oh, and I made it without the onions. Not on purpose, mind you. I recently discovered that you could nuke onions/veggies in the microwave with some oil or butter for 4-5 minutes to “quick-sautee”, so I did that while I mixed up everything else. Then I went to use the microwave later, maybe 10 minutes after I’d put everything in the oven, and found the onions 😕 Oops! Nick said he actually prefers it without onions anyways, but I don’t mind them. I don’t think, in this recipe, the onions make a big difference in taste.

Leave a Reply

