weekly dish {12/8/13}

imageWhile last Saturday was our last official Thanksgiving family festivity, we started the week by having a big family dinner Sunday for winter birthdays–Nick, his grandma, and his cousin’s daughter all share a birthday (the 5th), and his aunt has her birthday at the end of November (26th). So the whole clan got together to celebrate. Which was nice because we hadn’t seen all his cousins and their kids for months, and we would’ve had to wait until Christmas if not for this get together. My mother-in-law arranged some Minute-to-Win-It type games, which I admit I thought would be pretty dumb. But it was actually pretty fun–and I’m not saying that because I won the “female division” and got a $10 gift card 🙂 It was fun in its own right…

bre&babyThursday was Nick’s 26th birthday. And while my step-niece’s 10th birthday was Friday, her party was actually Thursday evening. It was a fun time with a great surprise when she opened her presents. My sister and brother-in-law are having a baby, sometime in June! Couldn’t ask for a better birthday present, even if she has to wait a few months 🙂 We ended the party was watching some of the live production of Sound of Music, starring Carrie Underwood–if you live in the US, I’m sure you know what I’m talking about. And it wasn’t very good. But we did have a fun time making fun of it!

imageYesterday was one of my best and oldest friend’s baby shower! Baby A is due at the end of January and will be the first baby in our group of friends, so she will be quite spoiled 🙂 Going through the registry, I cleaned out the section of dishes for Baby A. She’s got bowls, plates, spoons, and cups thanks to me–I also got the mesh baby feeder thing, which is helpful for teething. That and the teddy bear I bought weren’t on the registry, but I always make a point to get teddies because every kid needs one 🙂 The shower was great. I lost the Price is Right game, by guessing that everything was double what it was actually. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

SUNDAY–Insanity Cardio Power & Resistance
MONDAY–Scrubbed cupboards
at home because they were getting a little filthy…
TUESDAY–
I did P90x Chest/Shoulders/Tris and did some cleaning.
WEDNESDAY–
Finally got back to the gym, which I haven’t been to since March. I went to a Core Strength & Sculpt class, which I honestly didn’t care much for. It’s not worth the hour I have to wait in town before it starts (no sense to go home and then backtrack to town again).
THURSDAY–ran 3.1 miles on the treadmill
at the gym 
FRIDAY–
I didn’t workout Friday, because I was throwing myself a little pity party and was depressed. But you could consider my hour of grocery shopping as some activity 😕
SATURDAY–Cooked/cleaned for 4 hours
, then sat feeling depressed again. (Beginning to think PMS has, for some reason, started to make me emotional. It didn’t used to do that!)

This Past Week’s Cooking
I only made up Thanksgiving leftovers for the week–turkey, stuffing, corn casserole. I still need to write up a post for that corn casserole, too…It really is pretty good! A recipe from Nick’s aunt.

On the Menu
I have already made meals for the week–slow cooker lasagna and a chili recommended by a friend/co-worker. We already love the lasagna, which I’ve made already. But the chili is new, and it has some Sam Adams in the recipe. Never had chili with beer in it before…

Leave a Reply

