home-made & healthy {slow cooker jambalaya}

image

I’ve never had jambalaya and I certainly have never made it. I haven’t even really ever come across it around here (northwest Ohio), like a potlucks or anything. We tend to stick with the Italian or Mexican cuisine around here, I think. I don’t think I’ve ever tried anything that can be called Cajun or Creole cooking, until today.

I gotta say, I rather enjoyed the jambalaya. It was a little spicy, but I think if I ate it regularly, it wouldn’t be too bad. The Chinese and Cajun spicy are different than Mexican spicy, which I can handle fairly well, so I think I should just make those more often 🙂 Nick and I both like this, but we have no idea if it tastes the way it should–he’s never had it either! He thinks it’s the andouille sausage that makes it really spicy–I just think it’s overall spicy.

Shrimp is an ingredient in this meal, as I’m sure many of you know. I’m not a big seafood person, as many of you also probably know. When I prepped the shrimp (deveined and cooked, but with tail on cost like $3 more than without the tail–at already $13 for the pound, I just cut the tails off myself), it didn’t smell too bad. I usually don’t like the smell, but I’m beginning to think maybe it’s the cocktail sauce smell that I smell and don’t like. Anyways, I did eat the shrimp that was in my bowl of jambalaya. It didn’t really taste like anything, which was probably because of the spices and seasonings that made every bite taste the same. And the texture didn’t bother me either. Will I go out and look for shrimp recipes or start eating it every time I see it? No! But I will not be so averse to it in the future 🙂

So here’s the recipe, which I got from AllRecipes.com: Colleen’s Slow Cooker Jambalaya.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast halves – cut into 1 inch cubes
  • 1 pound andouille sausage, sliced
  • 1 (28 ounce) can diced tomatoes with juice
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 1 large green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 cup chopped celery
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 2 teaspoons dried oregano
  • 2 teaspoons dried parsley
  • 2 teaspoons Cajun seasoning
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 1 pound frozen cooked shrimp without tails

DIRECTIONS

  1. In a slow cooker, mix the chicken, sausage, tomatoes with juice, onion, green bell pepper, celery, and broth. Season with oregano, parsley, Cajun seasoning, cayenne pepper, and thyme.
  2. Cover, and cook 7 to 8 hours on Low, or 3 to 4 hours on High. Stir in the shrimp during the last 30 minutes of cook time.

And I’d be a bad Seinfeld fan if I didn’t add this in:

newmanjambalaya

Leave a Reply

