weekly dish {9/22/13}

Hi, all! This week went by very slowly. At work, the days dragged. Not sure why, since the teacher in my classroom finally came back from paternity leave, so it should’ve gone faster. Maybe his presence disrupted the routine, however slightly, so the kids got a little wacky. But it is very nice to have him back, he’s a fun guy πŸ™‚ (And I’m not just saying that because he reads this!) Nick continued to work on the garage throughout the week, putting more screws in the panels and doing something with the garage door. Aside from work and working out, I didn’t do anything this week. I did clean the house a little, but not as much as I should’ve. Watched a couple movies I hadn’t seen,Β Olympus Has Fallen andΒ GI Joe Retaliation. Both weren’t bad, but more for Nick than for me.

Oh, my cousin had her baby very early Friday morning (like, 12:03am early). A tiny bit of a thing, 7 lbs 4 oz, 19″ long. She looks beautiful! Hopefully I can go visit the whole family soon. Otherwise I might have to wait til Thanksgiving πŸ˜•

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Monday–P90x Back & Biceps, Ab Ripper
Tuesday–I tried to run and was feeling AMAZING! But right around that 10-minute/1-mile mark, my side began hurting again. It hadn’t done that in a couple weeks and I thought I’d rid myself of the problem. What bothers me most is that I feel great and then it changes in an instant. So I think, “This will be a great run!” and then it turns into barely finishing a mile or more. It has been making me not want to run as often because I just have no clue when it’ll happen, so why bother trying. But I did run 1.56 miles, and then walked a bit further and back, about 1.97 miles. Also, I did have a donut for breakfast this day because it was a co-worker’s birthday!
Wednesday–P90x Chest/Shoulders/Tris, Ab Ripper
Thursday–As I mentioned before, I didn’t even want to run because Tuesday was so disheartening. So I looked to see what free stuff I could find on YouTube as far as workouts go. I found TurboFire HIIT 15, which is a program a few of my friends do/have done, so I did it.
Friday–P90x Legs & Back, Ab Ripper
Saturday11.49-mile bike ride. It was a beautiful day! But the wind slowed me down a little. I notice going against the wind so much more when I ride a bike than when I run, it’s amazing.

Just feel the need to share some pictures of my P90x progress. I started doing it about halfway through May, so it’s been about 4 months. I would like to point out that I only do the strength days, plus abs, which is about 3 times a week. I don’t do the cardio days because I run (or try to run) on those days. And I don’t do the diet either. So the results I get are from really doing about 1/3 of the program. Just thought I’d point that out if someone thinks I haven’t made that much progress (that’s why) or if someone is pleased to see they don’t have to do it 100% to get results. The “3 months” picture is actually only a few weeks ago–I took it on my birthday so I could see how I began my year of 26 πŸ™‚

image

This Past Week’s Cooking
I posted about that Provencal Beef Daube (aka: “fancy” beef stew) I made. Not bad, but the beef stew I make is just as good and is easier to prep.

On the Menu
I’ve been inspired πŸ™‚ There was this pull-out booklet in a Food Network magazine at work for pulled pork and a bunch of different things to do with it. I’ve already made the pulled pork part, in the slow cooker of course, last night. So I will share with you all the things I do with it, recipes courtesy of the Pork people. (I think there are 4-5 things I want to do with it!)

Leave a Reply

