home-made & healthy {salsa chicken}

Tis the season for slow cookers
Fa la la la la, la la la la

Okay, now that that’s out of my system…

image

Last week, I made this, Easy Crock Pot Salsa Chicken, which has been the quickest ever slow cooker meal to prep I’ve ever made. And while I found it a tad bland in taste, it’ is simple to adapt to make taste even spicier. But here’s the recipe.

Ingredients
4 boneless skinless chicken breasts, thawed but uncooked
32 ounces salsa
1 (14 1/2 ounce) can corn, drained
1 (14 1/2 ounce) can black beans, drained

Directions
1. Place  ingredients in crock pot.
2. Cook on low 6-8 hours.
3. 30-60 minutes prior to serving, remove chicken, shred and return to crock pot.
4. To serve, use chicken mixture as filling inside tortillas.

How simple is that?!?! Next time I make it, I’ll probably add some extra bell peppers or jalapenos or something to give it that extra kick.

Word to the wise, though. I wouldn’t recommend actually eating it in tortillas. It is a tad runny, so I would either drain some of the juice out of the salsa or add extra of the rest. And by tad, I mean it’s a good thing I was the only one in the lunchroom at work eating it because both my hands were covered in juice/sauce from it running so bad.

Leave a Reply

