weekly dish {9/16/13}

image

looking through the whole garage

image

the bride-to-be

I’m a day late 😦 The reason is simply that I was swamped with stuff to do this weekend. But before I get to that, here’s a recap of my week: work. I honestly don’t think there was much aside from work that’s worthy of noting for the week. So I guess I can really just skip straight ahead to the busy weekend I had 🙂 I guess the busy-ness started Friday evening. Nick and I, along with his family (parents and brother) started demo-ing our garage. It’s really a pole barn, but that’s beside the point. It had really crappy and rotted wooden siding on it, probably original to our 1978 house, so it was time for a change.
Silver lining to such crappy siding–it’s really easy to get it down 🙂 But then you have to go back and get all the nails too–poo! The demo continued into Saturday morning. No new steel barn siding went up until Saturday afternoon, during which time I was actually gone, celebrating a BFF’s bachelorette party. Got my second ever pedicure and loved it 🙂 Then we went out for dinner at a place I’d never been, Byblos (Toledo), a Lebanese place. Tried lamb for the first time–yummy! A friend and I shared the shish combo (so there was kabob (beef), tawook (chicken), and kafta (lamb) over veggies and rice). Still have leftovers! Then back to another friend’s house for some stories and a game for the bride-to-be 🙂
Sunday was by far the most exhausting day. I’m not complaining at all–I was probably the one that put in the least work all weekend, simply because I’m the go-fer and not exactly strong or knowledgeable about siding (although there were a couple times during the whole project that my idea was the one they went with!) But I was fighting off a cold all weekend and the less sleep and working outside in the damp 60s weren’t helping. After a 15-hour day yesterday from Nick and his dad, the damn garage is secure, though not complete. No one can get in, but there are some screws that still need to be screwed and a corner piece here and there to add.

image

Oh, and I guess I can mention again that yesterday (Sunday) was the 1st anniversary of my life without dessert. Which I celebrated with some frozen yogurt 🙂 Very sensible, I think. I think it was safe to say I was addicted to sweets and now I’m “clean.” No, loving dessert is not like being an alcoholic, which has many more factors than I think a dessert-er does–but it’s very serious to me that I don’t really eat that stuff. I don’t want to fall off the wagon!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sunday–ran 4.29 miles; walked 3.46 miles with a friend and caught up (hadn’t seen her in a few weeks)
Monday–P90x Back & Biceps, Ab Ripper X
Tuesday–Insanity Cardio Power & Resistance (it was just too hot for a run, in the 90s!)
Wednesday–half of P90x Chest/Shoulders/Tris, all of Ab Ripper X (Nick needed help prepping some stuff for the garage, so I stopped mid-workout)
Thursday–I didn’t actually workout this day because my calves were KILLING me. I’m still not sure what caused it exactly, but I just tried to stretch out my legs some (amazingly, there’s not a whole lot of stretches for calves 😦 )
Friday–ran 4.02 miles; tore down garage siding and loaded it into a wagon for about 2 hours (the picture shows the wagon and I pretty much loaded all of what you see in it!)
Saturday–tore down more of the garage and helped get stuff for the real workers; tried a that new restaurant, Byblos (Lebanese), for a bachelorette dinner
Sunday–helped get stuff for the real workers on the garage (they worked for 15 hours, minus meals, and except for the hour I spent to run to get groceries for the week, I was there helping and on my feet, too); ate Pagliai’s pizza for dinner with the help; 1 YEAR WITHOUT DESSERT

This Past Week’s Cooking
I need to make up a post for the Slow Cooker Salsa Chicken I made, which was pretty good.

On the Menu
I have in the crock pot right now Provencal Beef Daube, which I am beginning to think is really just a fancy beef stew 😕 If that’s true, then I think it’s a waste of time because it did take a good hour to prep everything for this, where with the beef stew I’ve been making I just have to chop veggies and put them in with broth and beef. But, nevertheless, tomorrow at lunch I will know how different this tastes and if it’s worth another batch.

Leave a Reply

