home-made & healthy {mexican soup}

It is finally getting to be slow-cooker season, aka fall 😀 It’s my favorite season of the year. Well, it was slow-cooker season. The fact that today until Wednesday is supposed to be in the upper 80s/low 90s is not deterring me. It should be in the mid 60s by the end of the week–thanks a lot, Ohio weather!

Regardless, I’m trying to do the slow-cooker thing more often this fall. These meals tend to be on the cheaper side. These meals tend to be healthier, though I know it’s easy to make something unhealthy in the crock pot, too. And they are warm and cozy meals 🙂 I’ve already learned how to make great beef stew in the slow-cooker. And I just added a new yummy meal to my slow-cooker sheaf of my recipe collection: Mexican Soup.

Picture12

Really, this was one of the first hits from Google when I searched “healthy slow cooker chili”. Now I’ve never had much chili in my life, because I’ve been curiously picky until the last year or so of my life. But the result is hardly of a chili substance. It is by no means bad–I quite like it, proven by the fact that I’ve had it for a meal a day for about a week and am not yet sick of it. But it really is more of a soup than a chili, more brothy than saucy. (By the way, the picture sucks and I can’t figure out why it’s not letting me change the dimensions so it stops squishing it 😦 But it’s nice to have even a fuzzy picture, I think!)

So FoodNetwork.com calls this Healthy Slow Cooker Chili, but I call it Mexican Soup.

It is fairly healthy considering the sheer number of veggies put into it. BUT, the recipe calls for a lot of canned stuff, meaning LOTS OF SALT! I did look for reduced sodium stuff, but it’s hard sometimes when I just want to be done with the grocery shopping. Next time I make it, I think I might try getting the bagged beans and cooking them up before adding them to the cooker–less salt that way 🙂

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces cage-free boneless chicken breasts, cubed
  • 8 ounces ground lean turkey (I didn’t use any of this–what I had in the freezer turned out to be bad, so it was just the chicken for me)
  • 3/4 cup canned small black beans
  • 3/4 cup canned great Northern white beans (I used cannellini beans)
  • 4 cups no-sodium/MSG chicken or vegetable broth (I used vegetable broth)
  • 2 cups canned organic low-sodium tomato sauce
  • 1 cup canned no-sodium stewed tomatoes (I didn’t have regular, so I used some Ro-Tel tomatoes)
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 3/4 cup chopped celery (again, what I already had was bad and I didn’t get more at the store)
  • 3/4 cup corn (frozen, canned or fresh)
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 orange bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 yellow bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 fresh jalapeno, minced
  • 1/2 cup chopped yellow onion
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin

Directions

  • Place the chicken and turkey in a large saucepan over medium heat and cook until slightly browned.
  • Add to a 4-quart slow cooker along with the beans, broth, tomato sauce, stewed tomatoes, lime juice, celery, corn, bell peppers, jalapeno, onions, cilantro, garlic, chili powder and cumin. You can cook on high for a faster chili that will be ready in 3 hours. Or you cook on low for 6 hours. Set the dial, enjoy your day and come home to a healthy meal.

Per serving (based on 6 servings): Calories: 218; Total Fat: 3.5 grams; Saturated Fat: 0.5 gram; Protein: 26 grams; Total carbohydrates: 24 grams; Sugar: 6 grams; Fiber: 6 grams; Cholesterol: 39 milligrams; Sodium: 302 milligrams

 

 

Leave a Reply

