home-made & healthy {salmon}

wpid-IMG_20130819_181132.jpgThis spring, I decided to make myself eat more veggies. I found that prepping them in different ways than I had before made the more edible. And as I ate them more, I found they became more tolerable. I’ve heard before that taste buds need to be exposed to foods quite a few times before a taste starts to grow on a person. Well, since that worked a bit with the veggies (while they don’t taste bad, if I didn’t make myself eat them, I don’t think I’d crave them), I figured I should give some seafood another chance.

For a long time, I’ve been opposed to seafood. I certainly don’t like the scent of it. And, texture-wise, I don’t really like the way it just falls apart. But I started with something I’ve been able to choke down before: salmon. So I Googled recipes for salmon for people who hate seafood đŸ™‚ And I found this recipe for a sauce on Pinterest. It has no real name, just “The Best Salmon Recipe”. So here is the recipe, from Our Savory Life.

And I should mention that I really liked this salmon đŸ™‚ Possibly the best fish I’ve ever had. But I haven’t had a lot of it, because I was so picky. Nick liked it, too, though, and he loves salmon.

Ingredients
3 tablespoons dark brown sugar (I used light)
1 tablespoon low-sodium soy sauce
4 teaspoons Chinese-style hot mustard (I used regular mustard)
1 teaspoon rice vinegar
4 (6-oz) salmon fillets (about 1-inch thick)
cooking spray
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 425
  2. Combine first 4 ingredients in a saucepan; bring to a boil. Remove from heat.
  3. Place fish on a foil-lined jelly-roll pan coated with cooking spray; sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  4. Bake at 425 for 12 minutes. Remove from oven.
  5. Preheat broiler.
  6. Brush sugar sauce mixture evenly ever salmon; broil 3 minutes 3 inches from heat or until fish flakes easily when tested with fork.
Leave a Reply

