weekly dish {7/28/13}

I had a great week 🙂 The outings for school were awesome–I got paid to go see Despicable Me 2 for free with the kids (it was hilarious!) and we went to another teacher’s farm to ride horses and see some other animals. Some of the kids aren’t big fans of animals, especially big animals. One of the boys for the first time ever got on the horse and rode a little–he even didn’t freak out when it bucked a little. His dad and sister were with us and that’s probably a big factor, but I don’t think when he started the program 3 years ago anyone ever would have thought he’d be able to do that. I myself rode the horse, which I haven’t done since I was 12 (so more than half my lifetime ago). It felt so weird!
wpid-IMG_20130727_181455.jpgYesterday, I got to meet up with one of my friends from college that I haven’t seen in about 3 years (since we graduated). She’s doing great on her healthy journey–down 70 lbs!!–and is looking amazing 🙂 We met up for a walk on the trail I use for running and biking. We walked 4 miles and got caught in a little rainstorm. But it was great to catch up and talk about our jobs, our boys, and our healthier lives! (I’m not sure if you can view her blog without being a MyFitnessPal friend, but here is the link in case you can: CurlySue06’s Blog.
em showerAnd earlier today I went to a good friend’s bridal shower. She’s the fiancee of Nick’s best man, J, and is a great girl who I’m really glad to know. (Nick is J’s best man, too–we can’t wait for October!) It meant a lot of driving for me today, but another friend drove an hour longer each way than I did to be there, so I can’t complain. It was a beautiful shower.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Monday–ran 5.02 miles in 60 minutes on a beautiful sunset-lit trail (though it got a bit buggy)
Tuesday–P90x Ab Ripper & Chest/Shoulders/Tris and rolling on a coat of primer in the newly drywalled laundry room
Wednesday–ran 6.15 miles in 70 minutes (this was a particularly good accomplishment because I kept a great pace and I even got a new fastest mile, by 4 seconds, 9:49)
Thursday–P90x Ab Ripper & Back/Biceps and more priming
Friday–11.75 mile bike ride
Saturday–4.05 mile walk with my friend, CurlySue; P90x Ab Ripper & Legs/Back; random cleaning and stuff around the house
Sunday–P90x Cardio X

This Past Week’s Cooking
I actually tried something new! The recipe and mixes for Seasoned Potato Wedges came from a mom at work–she’s so nice 🙂 And these tasted great.

On the Menu
Going to put the seasonings for those potato wedges on some zucchini and squash and probably have it with some grilled chicken (maybe I’ll marinate that in something). I’m also making those Asian Stuffed Peppers I mentioned last week, I think. Looking forward to it 😀

Leave a Reply

