home-made & healthy {12} kung pao chicken

I guess for me, “I’ll post the recipe soon” means about a week later đŸ˜• But, better late than never, right? Anyways, last weekend I made Kung Pao Chicken with the bagged seasoning mix, Kikkoman brand. On the back of the package was the recipe, and that’s exactly what I made. It is delish!! In fact I just made it again today to eat as leftovers for a couple days this week. I do think that this particular dish might be my gateway meal to Chinese food. (Unlike last weekend, I will be making up some brown rice or quinoa to serve this over so it lasts me a little longer.)

image

So here is Kikkoman’s recipe:
INGREDIENTS
2 T vegetable oil
3/4 lb chicken breast, chunked
1/2 c thinly sliced carrots
1/2 c thinly sliced celery
1/2 c chopped green pepper
1/3 c roasted peanuts
1 pkg seasoning mix
DIRECTIONS
1. Dissolve seasoning mix in 1/2 c water and set aside.
2. Heat oil in wok or large skillet over high heat and add chicken. Stir fry 2 minutes.
3. Add vegetables and stir fry 2 minutes longer. Stir in seasoning mixture.
4. Cook and stir until sauce boils and thickens and all pieces are coated with sauce. Add peanuts and toss.

Both times I’ve made this, I haven’t used peanuts. Because both times, I’d forgotten to get them at the store.

I don’t know about you, but I consider this to be a pretty healthy dish. Lean meat, veggies. That oil is minimal and the seasoning may contain 30% of your DV of sodium. But personally, I think it is much healthier than some other options out there.

Leave a Reply

