excuse excess

Where this evening’s run was concerned, I was just full of excuses. My plan had been to run for an hour, no matter what was the distance. I want to get back in the habit of running one hour and two hours each once a week, to get me back to that 10-mile run. I mean, that would keep me half-marathon-ready at all times, basically. It would save me a lot of trouble later to prep for my next long race.

Back to today, I meant to run for an hour. Here are just a few of the excuses I came up with to not run so long–but I should mention I did run 2.08 in 21 minutes, for a 10:30 pace, which is very good for me. My excuses were: “Man, my calves and hams are tight from P90x (Legs and Back) yesterday!”, “Shit, my knee hurts a little and I don’t have my strap!”, “It’s getting pretty windy out here. I hope it doesn’t start raining again.”, “I haven’t even seen Nick today and I know he’s home and I want to spend some time with him…”, “It’s okay if I run short if I run fast, right?”

At least I did something and it wasn’t pleasant while I did it. But I feel good now :0)

image

Leave a Reply

