good foods for building muscle

Since I’m doing some strength training, I thought it was a good idea to look into foods that are good for helping a person build muscle. I knew that protein is good. And lots of people use whey protein shakes after a workout. But I don’t like those. And I’d rather kill two birds with one stone and use foods that are part of the 5 food groups (which I follow) to give me that protein and other nutrients and be a real meal or snack.

So after a little internet research, here is what I came up with. Well, firstly, you should consume your post-workout snack/meal within an hour of your workout. Secondly, liquid protein is great because it is easier to digest–I would assume this means the easier it is for your body to process, the better? Now, here’s a list of good food for building muscles:

  • chicken, steak, salmon, tuna, turkey, eggs
  • quinoa, brown rice, oats
  • spinach, sweet potatoes, broccoli, avocados, olives, chickpeas, lentils
  • pineapple, banana, papaya
  • cottage cheese, yogurt, chocolate milk, cheese
  • almonds, peanut butter

Just remember, I’m not an expert and I don’t pretend to be. Plus, I’m not checking the validity of any of the sites on which I found this information. If I’m wrong about any of these foods, it’s not exactly like it’ll hurt anyone, so I’m not too worried 🙂

Leave a Reply

