trying something new {5} brussels sprouts & oatmeal

No, I did not try these two foods together. I didn’t even try them on the same day. I felt the need to clarify that. So anyways…

Brussels Sprouts
About a week ago, on a whim, I purchased some brussels sprouts from the produce section of my grocery store. In my mind, if there is any vegetable a kid hates and doesn’t want to eat, but their parents try to make them eat it anyway it is the brussels sprout. I’m not sure why. Probably has something to do with TV shows or little kids’ books. In fact, I’m pretty sure there is a Franklin (the Turtle) book about hiding his brussels sprouts from his parents. Nevertheless, my parents never tried to get us to eat them. Our vegetables growing up consisted of potatoes, frozen corn (from my great-uncle’s sweet corn crop), and canned green beans–these are still my favorite veggies to date 🙂 I just wanted to know what these would taste like. I don’t know why I’d expect them to taste any different than lettuce or cabbage–I mean, look at them! They’re just like it, only miniature. I decided to steam some the other day, though I’m not sure that was the best way to go. I think I didn’t steam them long enough. The taste wasn’t bad, but the texture was pretty chewy–I think a clear sign I steamed them improperly. I’ll certainly give them another shot, possibly roasting or boiling them.

Old Fashioned Oatmeal
I tried this for breakfast the other day. I think I should specify that the only oats we had in the house when I felt the need to try oatmeal were old fashioned. This makes a difference with me, because texture bothers me sometimes. Nick suggested I make it maple and brown sugar oatmeal, so I found online the proper portions of those two ingredients to add. The taste was fine. But that texture, man! I think I get confused as to whether or not chewing is necessary. The oats aren’t quite like cottage cheese, which is pretty soft, so I can just swallow the whole thing. But when creamy and lumpy are mixed and I have to chew it, I’m not a huge fan. I plan on buying some instant oats at the store to try again. Those are chopped up finer, so there should be less of a problem, texture-wise.

Leave a Reply

