home-made {29} grilled bellas; cinnamon-apple oatmeal bread; & rhubarb crisp

Last week, I was a vegetarian. I tried a few new recipes, two for me and one solely for Nick. Anyways, here’s how my attempts went…

imageGrilled Bellas 😦

Actually named Feta Stuffed Portobellos in my Char Broil America Grills cookbook, I found these quite disgusting. I’ve never really eaten much in the way of mushrooms, so maybe it was a bit much to try. I couldn’t even try more than one bite. It might have been the balsamic vinegar, the mushroom, or both, but I just couldn’t do it.

As for the recipe, you toss the shrooms (6 large) in 1/8 cup of olive oil and 1/4 cup white balsamic vinegar. Then you grill them on medium high for 2-3 mins on either side. Then top with baby spinach, feta, and tomatoes (to taste) and cook over indirect heat. Take them off when the cheese starts to melt.

imageCinnamon-Apple Oatmeal Bread 🙂

I love the taste of cinnamon and apples together. I love cinnamon applesauce and cinnamon apple fruit and grain bars. So this recipe sounded  just right for me. It could be better, but it is in no way bad. It’s just not as cinnamon-y as I had expected. Which could probably be fixed with extra cinnamon in the recipe! Here’s the recipe, from Finding Joy in My Kitchen:

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/4 C butter, softened
  • 3/4 C brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 C water
  • 1 3/4 C applesauce
  • 1 C flour
  • 1/2 C wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 C oats (I used Old Fashioned)
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp.baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/8 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1-2 T brown sugar (for sprinkling on the top)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Cream together the butter and sugar. Then, add the applesauce.  Add in 2 eggs and 1/2 C water.  To the creamed mixture, add the oats, flour, cinnamon, salt, baking powder, and nutmeg.
  2. Pour into a greased bundt pan (or 2 loaf pans).
  3. Sprinkle the brown sugar over the top of the dough.
  4. Bake at 350 for 45-60 minutes until a toothpick comes out clean.
  5. Cool for ~5 minutes in the pan, and then remove to a wire cooling wrack.

image

Rhubarb Crisp

This dish was solely for Nick. His mom has tons of rhubarb–she can’t give it away fast enough. And he loves rhubarb crisp and pie, so I helped them both out and made it. I still haven’t tasted it, but for no real reason. It smells pretty darn good.

This recipe is so simple. Take 1.5 lbs (about 4 cups) of rhubarb (I cut in half lengthwise and then diced them), 1.5-2 cups of sugar, 3/4 cup flour, and 1/3 cup butter or margarine. Mix the dry ingredients and mix half in a 9×9 ungreased baking dish with the rhubarb. With the other half, cut in the butter/margarine. Pour that on top of the rhubarb to make a sort of crust. Bake for 40-50 minutes at 350.

According to the three rhubarb aficionados in my family, it tasted pretty good.

Leave a Reply

