weekly dish {5/12/13}

wpid-weekly-dish.jpgThis week was really nice. Monday was normal. I tried to run a really quick 5k, but I only got 2.7 miles before my one knee really started to hurt–and that’s not something I’m going to push. But I did have a good time–my pace was just under an 11:00 mile. I didn’t have work on Tuesday, which I liked more than a long weekend. I hung out at home, did some light gardening–really I just planted the hostas my mother-in-law gave me in our backyard. After that, I read a  book in our hand-me-down hammock–I love reading in a hammock when it’s beautiful outside 🙂 Wednesday, my step instructor was back at the gym after recovering from some surgery for the last month–and she didn’t let up on us at all. I did more gardening on Thursday, planting my blueberry & raspberry bushes, and my beans & peas. Now that I planted the seeds, and the seedlings I’d already germinated, there is a call for frost tonight 😦 Of course it’d wait to be in the 50s after a week and a half in the upper 70s-low 80s! I thought the danger of frost was all gone. Friday, I went for a walk with a girlfriend and we chatted about girly stuff. Nick and I had a date and saw Ironman 3 which was pretty good. I think I like all three of the Ironman movies equally–none is really that much better than another. And yesterday morning I did my regular step class at the gym and helped Nick do some construction in the basement.

SUMMER 2013 GOALS
Starting at the end of the month, I won’t be doing much at the gym. I’m cancelling my membership because 1) it’s nice enough outside to do lots of different stuff out there and 2) I won’t have the time for any classes. I’ll be doing the summer program at school and then closing the daycare, which takes me until 6 at the earliest. So I’ll just run, walk, bike, garden, and whatnot. Plus, I’m going to be doing P90x this summer. Nick already has the program, and I’ve done it for about a month once before. But this summer I want to work on getting stronger. Last summer, I was new to running. And while I’ll still run this summer, I’ll be more focused on doing p90x 3-4 days a week (I’ll need some off days to recover). So my goals for the end of the summer are these (and I know there’s not that many of them, so far): 

  • 60-second plank with perfect posture (this has nothing to do with P90x, I know, but I still want to be able to do it)
  • 3 consecutive pull-ups
  • 20 consecutive push-ups, with perfect posture

Some of you might have been hearing about the Abercrombie & Fitch CEO who’s totally outdated and won’t make large sizes of clothing for women because he doesn’t want “fat” people wearing the brand. This is outrageous, if you ask me. But because of that in the news, I was came across a blog post by a friend of a friend (my friend being an amazing lady named Kirsta) about how Strong is the New Skinny. You should really read it–it’s a great post. And just another reason I’d like to get stronger this summer–I am pretty weak, in my mind.

This Past Week’s Cooking
I tried a few different salads this week: Strawberry Spinach and Cran-Orange Spinach. I did like the strawberry one, but I wasn’t a fan of the Cran-Orange, even though I like all the ingredients on their own. I’ve been eating my Healthy Egg Salad a lot this week. And last night I got creative with my Vegetarian Mexican Lasagna.

On the Menu
I don’t have specific recipes yet, but I bought an eggplant and spaghetti squash at the store yesterday. If I don’t find anything else to do with them, there’s always eggplant lasagna and spaghetti squash spaghetti 🙂 But I will look around for some different ideas. I also have some portabella mushrooms that I might try grilling in some fashion this week. You’ll just have to see next week what I come up with 😀

Leave a Reply

