diverse diets {vegetarian.1} salad experimentation

I’ve not found it very hard at all to cut meat out of my diet. What I knew would be the real challenge of turning temporary vegetarian was taking in more vegetables. More specifically, eating salads. I’ll be honest, I’ve never had a salad before this week. You might not believe it, but it’s true. So I tried a few different types of salad over the week. And I realize that, for the most part, this only really added some spinach to my diet where I could’ve just incorporated it into lasagna or tacos. But I think it’s the point of a salad and that I need to be an adult–what adult doesn’t eat salad on occasion? (I won’t, however, ever drink coffee–that’s an unhealthy habit I don’t want to get into.)

So, here’s my summary on the salads I tried this week…

wpid-IMAG1943-1.jpgRun-of-the-Mill Salad
The first salad I had this week was what I’d call a “run-of-the-mill” salad, or what I think of when I hear the word salad. Spinach for the green (although I guess it’s usually lettuce), carrots, tomato, hard-boiled egg, and croutons. But I guess feta and no dressing might be a little different. Either way, it wasn’t great but I was able to choke it down.

wpid-IMAG1957.jpg

Spinach & Strawberry Salad
This was actually pretty tasty. It’s basically spinach with strawberries, feta, and almonds. I admit that the almonds didn’t add much in the way of flavor and they did slip through the fork a lot. But perhaps if I’d used whole almonds instead of sliced, it’d have made a difference.

This salad combo came from Food.com (via Pinterest).

image

Cran-Orange Spinach Salad

This one sounded okay, but I wasn’t a fan. I do like the ingredients, but I don’t like them combined. So it’s spinach, feta, mandarin oranges, and craisins. I’ll quick with the strawberry salad 🙂

This salad combo came from Yummly.com (again, via Pinterest).

Leave a Reply

