do i have a green thumb?

image

This spring, I’m trying my hand at gardening. Last spring we were just too busy with doing stuff on the house because we’d just bought it. This spring I’m ready to get some fresh veggies in my yard!

There was already a 20×20 patch in our yard that is pretty much in full sun, so I can only assume there was a garden there at some point. Anyways, I have never tried to do any gardening–or planting anything at all, for that matter–and I’m really hoping it will go well.

I started some seeds off about two weeks ago because Nick hasn’t rodotilled the garden yet. Plus, I just figured it’d be better to start them off. So my broccoli, lettuce, and spinach are sprouting. I hope to plant them sometime next week 🙂 I just started some cantaloupe seeds. I don’t know how they’ll work, since Nick just took them out of his cantaloupe and handed them to me. But I figure I’ll stick them in the same section with my watermelons.

I have no idea how ambitious this is, but I plan on trying to grow these:

  • peas
  • beans
  • cucumber
  • lettuce
  • spinach
  • potatoes
  • tomatoes
  • spaghetti squash
  • pumpkins
  • watermelons
  • cantaloupe
  • onions
  • carrots
  • blueberries
  • red raspberries

This means, in late summer and early fall, I’ll probably be trying my hand at canning and freezing. I haven’t ever canned anything, but I have a few friends that do so I’m hoping they might me out 🙂 My friend, the Country Wife, also has a garden and has canned–she doesn’t know it, but I’m going to ask her for tips and stuff.

Leave a Reply

