pushing myself

I am officially one of those people who can push themselves farther, or for longer, but not one of those people who can push themselves faster or harder. I have suspected this for some time. I am not sure what I can really do to fix it. Not that it is a huge problem. I mean, I still workout more than the average American. I don’t have any stats on that, but I work out for a minimum of an hour 5-6 times a week, pretty much all of which is cardio/aerobic exercise. I have a feeling that is more than the average American. Anyways, last week I was so happy to be a tad tight the day after my spin class. I felt like that meant is finally been able to push myself more, because usually I’m not sore. But the other day, my legs felt like jelly during spin and then…nothing the next day šŸ˜•

I think my problem with pushing myself is why I prefer step to spin. I can see what effort I’m putting into it, whereas that’s not really the case with spin or running. It’s so easy to “fake” a hard effort in spin, but really putting little into it. I have been running fairly consistently for nearly a year. While I went from running less than a mile to running between 6-8 on a long run, my speed has barely seemed to move much. I now run easily 4.5 mph, 5 if I concentrate on my breathing. But I started at 3-3.5. It looks like improvement, but I feel like I should be able to run a 10-minute mile, or quicker, after almost a year. It’s disheartening šŸ˜¦ But I will work ok it…

I picture some of these when I’m feeling like I’m slipping on my effort:

image

image

Leave a Reply

