home-made {24} cake batter blondies

I stopped eating desserts and sweets back in September. Because of that decision, I have about 6 boxes of cake/brownie mixes that will just go to waste. When a family dinner came up this past weekend, I took advantage and used up some funfetti mix and some frosting to make Cake Batter Blondies, as seen on the Six Sisters’ Stuff blog.

wpid-IMAG1459.jpg

They looked and smelled delicious! According to all that had them at the dinner, they were really good 🙂 I wouldn’t know–I didn’t have them. (I guess that’s a little weird, right? A sort of food review and I don’t even know how they taste haha) We will just have to take everyone else’s opinion for the truth! At least I hadn’t ever had them before–that way I didn’t know precisely what I was missing…

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 box yellow (or Funfetti!) cake mix
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 egg
  • 1/3 – 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup rainbow sprinkles (if you use a yellow cake mix, add these in)
  • 1/2 cup white chocolate chips
  • sprinkles for the top (I didn’t have any…)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Combine the cake mix, oil, and egg in a large bowl. Add the milk slowly – you want the batter to remain as dense as possible. Then mix in the rainbow sprinkles and white chocolate chips.
  2. Spray pan (either 8×11″ or 9×9″ pan) with non-stick cooking spray. Dump batter in pan and spread to the edges. Bake for 25-30 minutes at 350 degrees. (They will be a little soft/gooey in the middle- just let them sit for about 20-30 minutes and they will set up.)
  3. Frost when cooled, if you want. I assume, like brownies, they will taste pretty good without frosting. (I just used a can of frosting, heated it up in the microwave in 10-second increments for 30 seconds, stirring in between. I added some food coloring and poured it on! Much easier to frost a cake with thinner frosting, which sets up the same in the end.)
Leave a Reply

