weekly dish {2/10/2013}

wpid-weekly-dish.jpgThis past week has certainly had it’s good moments and it’s bad moments. First bad moment of the week was when I went to the gym for spin on Monday. I went to the bathroom to change and, well, use the bathroom. I had an Elaine Benes moment and NEEDED some toilet paper, but there wasn’t any!! Worse than Elaine’s predicament, there wasn’t anyone in the next stall over to even ask to “spare a square” 😦 Then Tuesday was hectic at work because one of the kids had a major meltdown. He hasn’t had one all year, I’m told (I started in December), so that was the silver lining. But Wednesday was good and I loved my Step and Sculpt class at the gym. Thursday was a beautiful day, weather-wise, so I decided to try running as quick a mile as I could. I knew right away I’d started out too fast, on an already hungry stomach, so I did not feel good. But I knew it’d only be about 10 minutes of bad feeling. And I managed to get my fastest mile time to date: 10:49, down from 11:39 in August. If you look at my goals

image

(on the right sidebar), you’ll notice one of my running goals is to run a 10-minute mile. So knowing that I was only 49 seconds too slow was a major confidence boost 🙂 On Friday, Nick and I went on a date–dinner at PF Chang’s and Identity Thief (which was hilarious!) Yesterday, was busy: errands in the morning, quick trip to the gym to do some weightlifting with my friend, to a cousin’s house for a big family dinner, then the 3rd Annual Vest Fest 🙂 It’s something our friends put on at a nearby country tavern every winter. You can see that my vest inspired an entire 1990s outfit, all pieces of which I found at the local Goodwill store 😀 (You can also see Nick’s lovely vest, also a Goodwill find.) And finally, earlier today, we went out to dinner at a local Mexican restaurant for Nick’s grandma’s birthday. If the weather gets warmer today, like it’s supposed to, I want to go for a run outside–it’s supposed to be about 40! That will feel so warm…

This Past Week’s Cooking

I am a big fan of Kraft’s Fresh Takes Smokey Mesquite Barbecue. Since Nick has been on Beachbody’s P90X diet for the past few weeks, it really affects how much new food I make a week. I am not a huge fan of eating the same thing over and over, so it affects that too. I’m trying to not let what I make go to waste, but it’s hard to eat the same leftovers all week. But the Smokey Mesquite BBQ chicken I made is still tasting yummy to me, even though I’ve been eating it all week 🙂 It’s pretty easy to pair it with anything to make a tasty and healthy meal out of it.

image

Yesterday I made Crescent Cinnamon Rolls for breakfast, because I felt like more than cereal, but not in the mood for really unhealthy refrigerated cinnamon rolls–these were a yummy compromise. I also made some Cake Batter Blondies yesterday for a family dinner. I have a lot of cake mix left from when I stopped eating sweets (now I only have 4 boxes 😕 ), so I found a recipe online, also through Googling, at Six Sisters’ Stuff (I made their Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole and it was yummy!)

image

image

On the Menu

As I mentioned already, I’m still eating leftovers 😦 (This is the only reason I dislike Nick’s P90x diet, because he doesn’t help me eat leftovers!) But I do have some sweet potatoes I bought to try making some fries with. But a friend pinned a sweet potato hamburger recipe, and I think I might try it!

Sweet Potato Burgers

Leave a Reply

