running on the treadmill

I did it! I finally conquered my “fear” of running on the treadmill at the gym 🙂 It wasn’t a huge “fear”–I think I just wanted to make excuses for using the elliptical instead of the treadmill since it’s easier. Nevertheless, I went for a quick run at the gym–I didn’t have much time left when I started, there were errands I just had to do this evening.

I’m not sure what to make of running on the treadmill. On the one hand, I LOVE that it will help me regulate my pace. But, on the other hand, it feels like my legs are moving faster and it’s taking me longer to get the mile. Almost like I’m running faster and going nowhere–which is, essentially, the point of a treadmill, I know. It’s also really weird to get no breeze at all while running. I never realized how hot I get while running when there’s nothing at all to cool me down. All in all, I think I’ll get used to it. But I think I’ll be outside when possible. The gym is better for getting up my pace.

2 thoughts on “running on the treadmill

  1. Just came across your blog and I am loving it. I am currently training for my second half marathon. My first was in October and I met my goal of just finishing. From now on I am to set speed goals and over time decrease my time. I too feared the treadmill at the gym but learned over time that I ran stronger, quicker and longer outside. Although the weather is shitty, hitting the pavement is always your best option. Aim to have your long run outside without any limits.

  2. Ps I too am working on a 10 minute mile! I am aiming for Febr 1st

Leave a Reply

