home-made {14} protein cookies

image

I saw this recipe on Pinterest and since they sounded so easy, I decided to try making them. The original recipe at Tasty Kitchen calls them “Peanut Butter Banana Oat Breakfast Cookies with Carob/Chocolate Chips.” I’m calling them protein “cookies”–not that they’re pure protein or anything. But they’re pretty healthy. I yielded 13, not measuring them specifically, but just a general size, and they are 110 calories a piece. Major ingredients include: oats, peanut butter, unsweetened applesauce, and peanuts. I’m honestly not sure if the protein powder called for in the recipe is truly necessary.

As far as taste goes, I actually think these would be tasty with raisins. There is a slight banana taste, but moreso the peanut. I found the taste rather good, but the texture bothers me slightly. (I think I’ve mentioned before I have a small texture problem with some foods, like lettuce  and oats.) Obviously oats are pretty essential to the recipe, so I will just have to get used to it if I continue to make the recipe repeatedly. They are good for a filling snack!

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 whole ripe bananas, mashed until creamy
  • 1/3 c peanut butter, creamy or chunky
  • 2/3 c unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 c vanilla whey protein powder
  • 1 t vanilla extract
  • 1 t butter extract, optional (I didn’t use this–honestly, I’d never heard of it before)
  • 1 1/2 c quick oatmeal, uncooked
  • 1/4 c chopped peanuts
  • 1/4 c carob or chocolate chips, optional

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat heat oven to 350ºF.
  2. In a large bowl, mix mashed banana and peanut butter until completely combined. Then add in the applesauce, vanilla protein powder and vanilla and butter extracts. Mix again until completely combined.
  3. Add in the oatmeal and nuts to the banana mixture and combine. (Add the optional carob/chocolate chips at this time if you want them mixed throughout.)
  4. Let dough rest for 10 minutes.
  5. Drop cookie dough, by spoonfuls, onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet and flatten cookies into circles, about a 1/3″ thick. (If you want the optional carob/chocolate chips on the top of the cookies, push them into the cookies now.)
  6. Bake cookies approximately 30 minutes, or until golden brown and done. Remove from oven and let rest on cookie sheet for 5 minutes, then move to cooling rack. (If you want the traditional fork tine marks on the cookies, use a pizza cutter or sharp knife to score the tops of the cookies while they’re still warm.)
Leave a Reply

