home-made {11} pumpkin chocolate chip bread

image

A couple years ago, I found this amazing recipe in a small Halloween book of Betty Crocker recipes. It is definitely one of those breads that is more like a cake than a sandwich-type bread. But it tastes so good! I make this every fall, and I made two versions this week so I could take it to work and share.

The first batch I made according to the recipe (that’s the picture). The second I made a couple of substitutions. It looked a little more rugged and was a tad crispy on the outside, but the inside was just the same and was moist. The two substitutions I made were stevia for sugar and whole-wheat flour for white, all-purpose flour. I didn’t use the same amount of flour because whole-wheat is thicker. But the amount was just a tad smaller. I didn’t even have the original recipe–I tried the healthier version and it tasted just like I remember the other recipe tasting ūüôā So here’s the recipe.

(By the way, the recipe calls for a glaze on top of the bread but I have never made it–it’s so good, even without it. It also calls for walnuts, but I’m not a nut person, so I don’t include them.)

INGREDIENTS
Bread

1/2 cup butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar*
2 eggs
1 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix)
2 cups all-purpose flour**
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
1/2 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips
1/4 cup chopped walnuts
*I use Sweet Leaf stevia, so it was 1/3 cup stevia
**I used about 2 cups of whole-wheat flour
Glaze
1/2 cup powdered sugar
2 to 3 teaspoons milk or whipping cream
DIRECTIONS
1)¬†Heat oven to 350¬įF. Grease bottom only of 9×5-inch loaf pan with shortening or cooking spray.
2) In large bowl, mix butter, granulated sugar, eggs and pumpkin with wire whisk. Stir in flour, baking soda, cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice. Stir in chocolate chips and walnuts. Spread in pan.
3) Bake 55 to 65 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes; remove from pan to cooling rack. Cool completely, about 2 hours.
4) In small bowl, stir powdered sugar and milk until smooth and thin enough to drizzle. Drizzle over loaf. Let glaze set up before slicing, about 30 minutes.
Here’s the link to the recipe on Betty Crocker’s website.
Leave a Reply

