home-made {8} whole wheat pumpkin waffles

image

I awoke this morning with an excellent idea: pumpkin waffles for breakfast. So I had to Google it and find a recipe. They turned out to be very tasty 🙂 Tasted good alone, with syrup or with butter and syrup. But I think I will try it with pumpkin.pie spice next time in lieu of the cinnamon and nutmeg.

Here’s the website from which I got the recipe: The Sweets Life

Ingredients:
-1 cup milk
-1 egg, separated
-1/2 cup pumpkin puree
-1/2 tsp vanilla extract
-3 tbsp canola oil
-2 tbsp brown sugar
-3/4 cup whole wheat flour
-1/2 cup all-purpose flour
-2 tsp baking powder
-1/4 tsp salt
-1/2 tsp cinnamon
-1/8 tsp nutmeg

Directions:
1. Preheat waffle iron.
2. In a large bowl, mix milk, egg yolk, pumpkin, vanilla, oil, and brown sugar. In a mixing bowl, beat egg white until stiff peaks form. Set aside. (I skipped whipping the egg–I just folded in the whites and it tasted fine.)
3. Add flours, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg to the wet mixture, stirring just until combined (batter might still be a little lumpy). Fold in egg whites.
4. Spray waffle iron with cooking spray and pour approximately 1/2 cup batter onto the waffle iron. Cook waffles until lightly browned and crispy. Serve immediately with butter and syrup. (I used 1/4 cup for my square waffle iron and I think spraying the iron made my first round a bit soft–but my iron is new and non-stick.)
*extra waffles can be frozen and reheated in the toaster or toaster oven!

Leave a Reply

