Home-Made {4} Spinach-Stuffed Chicken Breasts

image

I’m beginning to like this new job of mine. Working in schools, especially as a substitute, means I get done with work pretty early in the afternoon. So I have lots of time to actually cook. I love baking and cooking. This is the third new thing I have made since Sunday. And it tastes amazing!

This is actually a recipe from Kraft, meant as a “dinner for two”, that I got out of the Food and Family magazine in 2007. But I made 6 chicken breasts because I just knew ahead of time that this would taste so good ūüôā While actually rolling the breasts, I didn’t do so well. I think that’s because I didn’t get them pounded out thin enough. But the chicken formed a sort of taco-shell around the stuffing mixture, so it was still pretty well contained. I highly recommend this to any chicken lover–plus, each roll-up is only 300 calories!

Here’s the recipe that Kraft’s website has for a 6-serving set:

INGREDIENTS
1-1/2 cups  water
6 Tbsp.  KRAFT Italian Roasted Red Pepper Dressing, divided
1 pkg.  (10 oz.) spinach leaves, stems removed, chopped
1 pkg.  (6 oz.) STOVE TOP Stuffing Mix for Chicken
1/4 cup  coarsely chopped roasted red peppers
6 small  boneless skinless chicken breast halves (1-1/2 lb.), pounded to 1/4-inch thickness
1/2 cup  KRAFT Shredded Low-Moisture Part-Skim Mozzarella Cheese

DIRECTIONS
1) HEAT¬†oven to 350¬ļF.
2) BRING water and 2 Tbsp. dressing to boil in large skillet on medium-high heat. Stir in spinach, stuffing mix and peppers; cover. Remove from heat. Let stand 5 min.
3) SPREAD¬†onto chicken breasts. Roll up each breast, starting at one short end; place, seam-side down, in 13×9-inch baking dish. Brush with remaining dressing.
4) BAKE¬†35 min. or until chicken is done (165¬ļF). Top with cheese; bake 5 min. or until melted.

By the way, I didn’t stir in the spinach with the stuffing mix. I just laid it out all over the chicken breasts, then put the stuffing mix on top and rolled them up. It was just easier than chopping up the spinach–I took off the stems and put the whole leaf down. Couldn’t taste it at all, so maybe next time I’ll double up that ūüôā

2 thoughts on “Home-Made {4} Spinach-Stuffed Chicken Breasts

  1. This looks and sounds amazing!

Leave a Reply

