Home-Made {3} Whole Wheat Shortcake

image

I think I’m going to have to try this recipe again. It’s not that the shortcake doesn’t taste good. But its really heavy and a tad dry. I think this might have to do with the substitute of regular whole wheat flour in place of whole wheat pastry flour? I have never made shortcake that’s not from the Bisquick mix, so I don’t know how home-made shortcake tastes anyways. I don’t know how much difference there is between regular and pastry flour, though I guess pastry would be lighter. It’s okay. I will finish it, but it isn’t tastier than other shortcake I’ve had…and not that much healthier.

Oh, by the way, here’s the recipe I used, with th exception of that flour issue I had.

INGREDIENTS
2 pints strawberries, sliced
2 tablespoons honey
1 ¾ cups whole wheat pastry flour
¾ cup whole wheat flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
¾ teaspoon sea salt
2/3 cup cold buttermilk
8 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled 1 egg
3 tablespoons honey

3/4 cup whipping cream
2 tablespoons honey

DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 425°F and adjust rack to middle position. Toss together strawberries and honey in a small bowl. Set aside. Whisk whole wheat pastry flour, whole wheat flour, baking powder, and salt in large bowl. In a medium bowl whisk together buttermilk, cooled butter, egg and honey. Pour buttermilk mixture into dry ingredients and stir until incorporated. Spoon 1/3 cup scoops of dough onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake for 12-15 minutes until tops are golden brown. Cool for 20 minutes.

RECIPE SOURCE: http://deliciouslyorganic.net/strawberry-shortcake/

Leave a Reply

